Who Says You Can’t Buy Friends?

Lemme start by saying that I’ve intentionally kept the humor in this post to a minimum.  So, if you only come here for comic relief you might as well stop reading now.

Anyway, I’m extra elated that Nerve-Wracking Super Tuesday is all over.  Between my incessant switching between CNN, MSNBC, and Fox News and Romney’s misleading early momentum, I was worried that people had just read the title of Why Romney is the Obvious Choice and rolled with it!  To put it simply: election night was overwhelming. And never-ending!

It wasn’t until 11 p.m. that CNN, MSNBC, and Fox News started projecting another four years for the incumbent.  I had to cross out Fox News because the infamous Karl Rove decided to act like a spoiled brat wasn’t convinced that POTUS had won Ohio at that time despite the fact that though the numbers were very close, the outstanding votes were mostly from Democratic areas in Ohio.

In his defense, I’m sure if my Super-PAC model collectively raised more than one billion dollars with  to support the losing candidate, I’d be shitting bricks too I wouldn’t be satisfied with projections either – I’d want final tallies.  Which brings me to the actual point of this post…

This country is full of gamblers! And by “gamblers” I’m referring to the people who complain bitterly about the economy, but played Russian roulette with their hard-earned dollars in this election.  This year alone, thanks to 1) campaign fundraising, 2) the Democratic and Republican National Committees and 3) financial support from independent groups, approximately six billion dollars was collectively spent on the election, according to the Center for Responsive Politics.  Yeah, you didn’t read that wrong:  approximately six billion dollars was spent on the 2012 election.  To put it into perspective, check out this comparison that AVAAZ published on Monday:

Kinda makes you wonder WTF think, doesn’t it?

You’d swear that the economy wasn’t a huge issue on the campaign trail!  #JustSaying

Before I continue, lemme make it clear: this post is not knocking either of the candidates.  What it is knocking is the entire political election process.

In order to successfully run just about anything in this country, you need money.  So, I totally understand the need for it when campaigning to be the leader of the free world.  That said, after reading how much was spent on this year’s election, I was utterly disgusted to say the least.

If I’ve done my math correctly, approximately 2.4 of those six billion dollars was spent on the presidential race.  According to the Center for Responsive Politics, that’s over one billion from candidate fundraising, approximately 924 million from the Democratic and Republican National Committees, and over 450 million from outside groups.

Out of those 2.4 billion dollars, approximately 868 million was spent on advertising with a little over 766 million of that focused on negative advertising according to The Washington Post.  And where were those ads aired?  Mostly in swing states.  Why?  Because presidential candidates need to focus on securing 270 of the available 538 electoral votes and because most (around 35-40) states have either a highly conservative or liberal population, most presidential elections are decided by the swing states.

Below is a snap shot of the country divided by Democratic, Republican, and Battleground or Swing States, courtesy of CNN.

And here is a breakdown of the country divided by electoral votes received by both candidates, also courtesy of CNN.  Note that Florida’s votes still haven’t been tallied, but because Obama received more than the 270 needed electoral votes, their votes won’t affect the outcome.

You’re probably thinking, “This bama has gone on a tangent! What’s the point of this post” because I was thinking the same thing.” My point is that as happy as I am to see that my candidate made it into office, a shitload of money (1) went into getting him there and (2) was wasted trying to prevent him from getting there.  And what’s the end result?  Almost a dead-even split in the number people focused on why they like or dislike POTUS instead of a collective group of Americans focused on working together to move the country forward; the popular vote.

Money Mitt tried to at least concede gracefully…

But in my opinion, (whether you agree or not), his condescending ass could care less about how the next four years go.  Between “…she [Ann, my wife] would’ve been a wonderful first lady…” and “…I so wish that I had been able to fulfill your hopes and lead the country in a different direction, but the nation chose another leader, so Ann and I join with you to earnestly pray for him and for this great nation…” that shit just didn’t seem genuine.   I’d love to be proven wrong though.  So, if he actually finds a way to get his fellow Republicans to work with, instead of against the president’s agenda, I will retract that statement and applaud his efforts in a future blog post.  I ain’t holding my breath though!

Though I fell asleep during I wasn’t really wowed by Obama’s victory speech, I can’t post Romney’s, and not post his.  And before you start shitting on me for that comment, I’m just being honest.  Hands down, he’s one of the best orators I’ve had the opportunity to hear, but compared to past speeches, this one just didn’t do it for me.

That said, I’m honestly looking forward to the next four years.  I hope that the prezzo gets the support needed to make his second term even better than the first because I truly believe we’re on the right path with his leadership.

In celebration of that, we’re partying at Liv for “4 More Years || Re-Election Victory Party” this Saturday, November 10.  Don’t you just love my shameless plug?  LOL!

See you there…

About The Warped Reality

I'm a normal guy (in my world...lol) and I enjoy my daily interactions with the weirdos out there!
This entry was posted in In The News, Strong Enough For Her, But Written For Him, Strong Enough For Him, But Written For Her, Venting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

