New Year, New Outlook!

Happy New Year bishes!  I know I’m four days late, but better late than never, right especially when it comes to that time of the month!

As I’ve said many times (and will probably say again in the near future), apologies to those of you who faithfully follow my blog and are dissatisfied with my very infrequent posts.    I just don’t have the spare time I used to.

Anyway, this post will be short and to the point with the point being that I’ve got a new outlook for life, not just the new year.  I’ve never been big on New Year’s resolutions, but I had a hella delayed “Aha” moment recently and figured I’d share it.  I’m pretty sure I’m not the only person who’s battled with this, but in case I am, just humor me.

You’re probably asking yourself, what the fcuk is this bama talking about? I’m talking about relationships – family, platonic, not-so-platonic, etc.

Over the years I’ve continuously wondered, and at times tried to control, why certain people were in my life for longer/shorter times than others.  Anytime that conundrum would present itself, my mother would hit me with the adage: “son, people are in your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.”  Yeah I heard the words, but clearly never actually listened to what she was saying because time after time I’d be fighting to keep people in my life who clearly didn’t want to be there or wonder why others stayed around when I didn’t treat them as well as I could have.

It sometimes seems like the people who are in your life and the amount of time they spend there is all predetermined.  From the folks I literally interact with once or twice a year, but when we speak/hang it’s like we never missed a beat, to those on the flip-side, who I spend time with fairly regularly and enjoy it, but don’t really value it more than a $1 McChicken sandwich at McDonald’s.  Crazy how that works out.

Trust me when I say that my ideology for just about all not-so-positive occurrences I come across is that stressing over shit you have no control over is useless…learn from the situation and keep it moving.  I guess it’s just hard to let someone go when you always thought they’d be around.

All of that is to say that no matter if you are in my life for three days (a reason), three months (a season), or til death do us part (a lifetime), I appreciate you and the time we’ve spent together, no matter how minor!  I hope that you’ll be along for the entire ride, but I totally understand if you have to get off a bit early.

Love you bishes like a fat kid loves the shit that made them fat cake and wish you a better 2013 than your 2012.

Cheers,
Dre

About The Warped Reality

I'm a normal guy (in my world...lol) and I enjoy my daily interactions with the weirdos out there!
This entry was posted in "Love Stories", Strong Enough For Her, But Written For Him, Strong Enough For Him, But Written For Her, Venting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

